Why Poetry?

Poetry stretches the meaning of my words, giving them new shapes and angles. It expands the basic art of conversation, allowing the speaker to present themselves in a multitude of ways. It makes no demands, allowing me to curl my thoughts around corners and bends, placing my truths anywhere on the page that I please. Poetry puts on disguises, playing hide-and-seek, all the while dancing to a tune that only some are able to hear. Why poetry, he asks me. To heal and move on, my friend.

Leave a Reply

